I Don’t Put A Price On Hate

As I cut out the buttons

You had stitched to my vest

With the scissors of a Swiss-army-knife.

 

Then I throw them away

Along with the Kashmir scarf

You gave me after I teased about the weather.

 

I sift through a suit case

And find a hemp bracelet

That you’d made for me so long ago.

 

I fold and twist it to a wick

And light it with anticipation

Because I then use it to brighten-up a Lucky.

 

I toss the bracelet in the tray

And let it burn through and through

While I wonder where the moon had gone.

 

Back in the suit case

I find a box with my name

Written the way you used to do.

 

It was full of pictures

Which cost more than I remember

Because you insisted on every size and frame.

 

Of course I gave in,

Your kisses struck like sweet lightning

And your hips swung like an insane fire-whirl.

 

But the storm had passed,

All that was left was debris

And I threw the pictures away.

 

I get up, get out

And walk on down

The block in hopes it’s not too late.

 

I walk in, walk about

Till I find that familiar looking wall

I stare at like I’m looking out through prison bars.

 

That sweet bourbon

Finally looked as good

As your legs sticking out of that red skirt.

 

I don’t put a price on hate

But the corner store sure does:

$10.98.

Leave a Reply

