Track 4 – Come Back To Sorento

[From Album #1 – Dean Martin Sings (Dean Martin)]

“On my way” read her last text.

She didn’t live too far and on her bike she would get to my place fast.

I rushed out to the sidewalk, I loved seeing her ride her bike. There was this strength she had on her bike, she was this unstoppable force with clear and precise purpose. The bike seemed almost a part of her, as if her will were enough to make it function. I was never more impressed by her than when I saw her ride her bike, it was almost analogous to the rest of her. The way she would just throw herself at the world, at life, ready for the universe to engulf her.

And when I would see her turn the corner onto my street, my heart would just race and I couldn’t help but smile, then she’d smile back and I’d get numb with love. She looked so strong, so sure of herself. There wasn’t any second guessing in her movements, there probably wasn’t any first guessing either, just certainty.

She zoomed past my house and made a u-turn at the end of the block only to glide back toward me and up the driveway.

“What are you waiting out here for, weirdo?”

“Just wanted to see you as soon as I could, that’s all.”

“Were you waiting long?”

“Nah, if I did, I didn’t notice.”

She leaned her bike against the driveway gate and gave me the kind of hug you don’t forget and I hugged her right back.

We both had work early the next day so she couldn’t stay too long. Our schedules didn’t always line up since we were both working full time and her hours could be all over the place. So we found these pockets of time when we could just see each other and hug and make out and make plans to see each other again, sometimes we’d do a little more.

She would head home once it would start getting dark. And again I would get to see her on her bike, looking all marvelous.

“Text me when you get home, please.”

“Yes, dear,” she would patronize me.

And off she went, leaving me numb, gliding down my avenue. I swear, she made the world spin with her bike, with her glorious strength. All I could do was watch and melt, and wait for her to spin the world back to me.

 

Leave a Reply

